My Daily Wing Chun and Fitness Training Routine

For those who know me beyond this blog and other forms of social media (and even for those who don’t), they will look at the training schedule I have outlined for myself and wonder: “How the hell do you fit all this into a day?” Well, it isn’t all that hard for me. Rather than look at the day as a whole, which would overwhelm me (as it would most people), I break it down into “bite-sized” bits.

So how does that translate? Well, let’s look at the forms. I do Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee once each, and I do Chum Kiu eight times. That translates to doing my forms ten times per day. I do 100 punches at the end of each form, which means 1000 punches.

If I thought to myself, “I have to do TEN FORMS TODAY,” I would never get it done. Instead, I choose to focus on TWO FORMS at a time. So that goes like this:

BEFORE WORK: I will do Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee.
MORNING BREAK: I will do Chum Kiu twice.
LUNCH: Two more repetitions of Chum Kiu.
AFTERNOON BREAK: Again, Chum Kiu twice.

As you can see, this gives me both Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee, plus six out of eight reps of Chum Kiu. How do I get in the other two? Well, sometimes when I am ahead on work, I will take an extra break or two to stretch my legs. During that time, I will get those extra reps of Chum Kiu in.

This means I have all reps of all forms done before I get home. When I am back to my apartment, I can go through the other parts of my training routine. See the image below:

Wing Chun and UPO Training Guide

This way, I don’t have too much to do at night. My evenings are usually jam packed with all the other necessities of life that arise from having a girlfriend, two stepchildren, and all that good stuff.

***********************************************************************************************************
DO YOU HAVE A TRAINING ROUTINE THAT YOU FOLLOW? OR DO YOU HAVE ONE THAT YOU TRY TO FOLLOW, BUT DON’T SEEM TO HAVE THE TIME TO FIT EVERYTHING INTO YOUR DAY? SHARE IT HERE, AND MAYBE WE CAN FIGURE IT OUT TOGETHER!!!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in biu jee, cardio, chum kiu, crunches, discipline, exercise, fitness, health, kung fu, martial arts, motivation, observation, punches, push-ups, routine, running, sil lum tao, sit-ups, train, training, university police officer, wing chun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Daily Wing Chun and Fitness Training Routine

  1. Pingback: My Daily Wing Chun and Fitness Training Routine — The Online Wing Chun and Fitness Journal of Steve Grogan – Daddy Felix

Leave a Reply

