July 11 2016 Wing Chun Training

Remember the schedule I posted a few weeks ago that showed I would train for Wing Chun and my University Police Officer agility test? Well, even though I created that a while back, I was not following it…other than to do my forms 10 times a day, finishing each one off with 100 punches for a total of 1000 punches.

Well, today I finally started doing the other parts of the training routine. For the record, today involved doing some extra pivoting work, as well as doing techniques that involved both hands at the same time (one hand punching while the other did a block).

Some people may wonder while I had extra pivoting on the agenda. That is because when I pivoted, I was losing my balance. I needed to learn how to sink my stance and keep my balance better. However, something funny happened: ever since I put that item on the training routine, my balance has been improving anyway! In other words, it might not stay on the list, but we will see.

As for doing two-hand techniques, that is because I need to practice my timing. See, in wing chun we train to do simultaneous attack and defend. However, I have been having a bit of a delay. Therefore I want to get the timing down. This part was actually quite useful.

Aside from doing the two-hand techniques with a side to side pivot, I have also been walking around my apartment and doing these techniques with a step. This will be helpful, as my entry footwork could use some improving too.

So I am just getting around to following the entire schedule, right? Well, funny thing: I am now reconsidering how many times I do my forms per day. Right now I do Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee once each, then I do Chum Kiu EIGHT times. Well, now that I am doing the rest of my training, this might be too much for me to take on, considering the time constraint that my life was BEFORE I started training on a regular basis. So now what I’m thinking is:

*Still do Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee once per day
*Do Chum Kiu FOUR times instead of eight
*100 punches at the end

This will still give me 600 punches per day. If I want to keep that nice even 1000, then I will just do 400 extra punches a day. Then I can do my forms (two at a time) on my morning, lunch and afternoon breaks at work with no fear of getting myself in trouble!

And of course, if I wind up with more free time than I expected at home, I can always knock out a couple more rounds of Chum Kiu. It might need a few minor tweaks, but I think this will be a damn good schedule.

I just need to summon up all my willpower because tomorrow is when I do University Police Officer training. That involves push-ups, sit-ups and the 1.5 mile run. (I am also throwing in a minute’s worth of burpees for good measure.) However, the real reason I need to push myself is because I wanted to try doing everything other than the run BEFORE work.

Now that is going to be a challenge, my friends!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, agility test, biu jee, cardio, chum kiu, endurance, exercise, fitness, health, kung fu, martial arts, motivation, perseverance, punches, push-ups, running, sil lum tao, sit-ups, train, training, university police officer, wing chun, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

