July 12 2016 University Police Officer Training

Well, the day got off to a rocky start at first. I Wanted to do my sit-ups, push-ups AND burpees BEFORE work. When that alarm went off at 5:30, I was like, “Hell no. Guess I am not the morning person I thought I was!” So I got dressed, got my lunch together, then laid back down for a quick nap and cuddle time with my girlfriend.

Then the alarm went off again for me to leave, and you know what? I did my sit-ups and push-ups before leaving. I did the sit-ups first and could get only 18 in one minute. (The goal is 40.) Then I did my push-ups, and I got only 16! (My goal is 30.) That was an easy fix. Push-ups first next time!

Unfortunately I ran out of time to do the burpees, but again there is a way to solve that: all I have to do is get up maybe 5 minutes earlier than usual, and I should be able to knock those out. For the record, I did my burpees first thing when I got home, and I did 20 in one minute. (My breathing got all messed up because my stepdaughter came in and started asking me questions. Next time, I am ignoring them until my minute is up!)

In order to run when I get home, I need to prepare a little. A friend of mine advised me to eat some kind of carbs 2 hours before I run in the form of a whole wheat bagel, and then to consume some kind of juice 1 hour before.

I asked him if the bagel could have peanut butter on it. He said it could, so around 2:30 I consumed a bagel with PB. Then around 3:45 I had some pineapple juice. As I said above, I got home and did my burpees. After that I went through a series of 10 stretches before going for my run.

Well, right away I knew things would be bad because I could HEAR the juice sloshing around inside me! I managed to do two laps; it took me 10 minutes, and the laps added to about 0.76 miles or so. I say “about” because, when I looked at my tracking app, I saw it had tracked my time…but not my damn distance!

For the next time I do the University Police Officer portion of my training, this is what I intend to do:

*Wake up a little earlier to do push-ups, sit-ups and burpees before work.
*Have that bagel at 2:00PM WITHOUT any peanut butter.
*Drink the juice a little earlier…maybe 3:15 or 3:30.

Doing Chum Kiu 4 times and Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee one time each worked out well for me. On top of that, I did 400 extra punches. I did 100 punches for each of the following types:

*chest height
*head height
*with a pivot
*with a step

**********
DO YOU HAVE A TRACKING DEVICE OR APP THAT YOU COULD RECOMMEND? RIGHT NOW I AM USING FIT WALKER, WHICH FAILED TO MEASURE MY DISTANCE YESTERDAY.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, advice, agility test, analysis, biu jee, calories, cardio, chest, chum kiu, crunches, eating, energy, exercise, fitness, health, kung fu, martial arts, nutrition, punches, push-ups, results, running, sil lum tao, sit-ups, stretching, train, training, university police officer, wing chun, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

