University Police Officer Training July 14 2016

Standard wing chun training for the day: Sil Lum Tao once, Biu Jee once, Chum Kiu 4 times, then 400 extra punches. Now on to the meat of the day.

I set my alarm to wake me up 5 minutes earlier than usual. This time I did 30 push-ups, and then I went on to sit-ups. To my amazement, I jumped from 18 to 25 in the space of two days! The only thing that prevented me from doing more was the fact that I was wearing a belt, and every time I sat up it would make the belt grind into my lower back. Lesson for next time: remove the belt!

The last thing I did was burpees for one minute. Now for those of you who read my previous post, I was able to do 20 in a minute. Well, today I did only 16. At first I was bummed about that, but then I realized there was a big difference between today and Tuesday: I did the burpees when I got home from work, NOT right after doing the push-ups and sit-ups, so I decided to cut myself some slack.

Now on to the running part. On Tuesday I had a bagel with peanut butter about 2 hours before I ran. Then I had pineapple juice an hour prior. By the time I got home and started running, NONE of this had settled. So I decided to have only half a bagel around 2:00PM and see how that worked out for me.

The verdict? Pretty damn good! I didn’t get around to my run until 5:00PM, but that was because I was on a conference call where I was being interviewed about my two books THE SEARCH FOR THE WARRIOR’S PATH and FITNESS FOR THE REST OF US. (More on that later.)

The point of the first month is to pick a speed, no matter how slow, that I could maintain for the entire 1.5 mile distance. I thought it was going to be a week or so of trial and error, but I think I nailed that pace down right out of the gate. Having said that, I DID have to drop down to a walk after 1.22 miles. All told, I was at a walking pace for about 0.15 of the distance. Not bad! I think my body will “catch up,” and I will be able to do the full distance at the speed I picked on Thursday. My total for the 1.5 miles was 18 minutes 29 seconds, which means I have to close a gap of 5 minutes and 30 seconds.

For the record, I hit a mile at 11 minutes 40 seconds. When I was in high school, it took me THIRTEEN MINUTES to reach the same distance. In other words I am more fit now at 39 than I was at 16!!!

To sum up, all I have to say is: before I started this training method for running, I thought reaching that goal of 13 minutes for the 1.5 was unreachable. Now I feel different.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, analysis, biu jee, burpees, cardio, chest, chum kiu, crunches, eating, endurance, energy, exercise, fitness, health, kung fu, martial arts, punches, push-ups, running, sil lum tao, sit-ups, soreness, strength, train, training, university police officer, wing chun, workout and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

