Wing Chun Shadow Boxing July 15 2016

Now we are caught up to the present!

One thing I want to say before I forget: I was looking up articles on how often I should stretch to gain some flexibility. To my surprise, I found many articles that said you don’t want to stretch the muscles any more than 30 seconds each, and you can do this as little as once per day, 3 days a week. Well, I stretch before I run, and I run 3 days per week, so I am all set there!

Today was quite unique for my wing chun training in that it was the first time I practiced shadow boxing. My idea was to do one round slow and another round fast. (By “round,” I mean I would pretend people were attacking me for 2 minutes at a time.) To be honest, I thought I would be stuck imagining the same attacks over and over again. I predicted it would be an exercise in boredom.

I was dead wrong. In fact, it was so much fun that I plan on adding in some shadow boxing every day that I can, although I won’t do as much as I did today. Let me sum up the training schedule here.

*Did my Sil Lum Tao and Biu Jee, as well as one slow and one fast round of Chum Kiu
*Decided to do a round of shadow boxing, followed by a slow Chum Kiu, then another round of shadow boxing with my final fast Chum Kiu
*Realized what a blast shadow boxing was, and I decided to do more and more and more
*Bounced back and forth between slow and fast shadow boxing, while also working in 400 more punches (100 at a time), as well as a slow AND fast run-through of the WOODEN DUMMY FORM, which I have not done in many, many moons
*Wracked up 12 minutes of shadow boxing time by this point, so for the cool hell of it did one more slow and one more fast round, for a total of 16 minutes

So let’s see how that looks all summed up nicely:

*Sil Lum Tao once
*Chum Kiu four times
*Biu Jee once
*100 punches at the end of those forms, totaling 600
*400 more punches (chest height/head height/with pivot/with step)
*Wooden Dummy form twice
*16 minutes of shadow boxing

Now that I look at it, the only thing I regret is that I didn’t work any kicks in! I could have done front kicks, side kicks, and bong/jut gerk, not to mention 4 more minutes of shadow boxing for a nice, round sum of 20 minutes!

Well, I learned for next time. That is why I post these journal entries: to analyze what I did, and adjust as needed.

*****
DO YOU TRAIN IN WING CHUN? ANOTHER MARTIAL ART? ANY KIND OF SPORT? IF SO, I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR ABOUT HOW YOU TRAIN. FEEL FREE TO LEAVE A COMMENT!!!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, biu jee, chum kiu, discipline, exercise, fitness, front kick, health, kicks, kung fu, martial arts, mook jong, observation, perseverance, progress, punches, results, review, self-defense, sil lum tao, train, training, wing chun, wooden dummy, work, workout and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

