This Training Schedule Needs a Revamp

Today I went for a run, and it took me 20:06 to do 1.5 miles. That amounts to a loss of yet ANOTHER minute. My stamina should be going UP, not DOWN!!! UGH!

Then I thought about it: yesterday I did 300 kicks, and my hips and quads were pretty sore at the end of it. Maybe that contributed to my legs burning out so quickly today. It makes sense because the reason I dropped down to a walk was because of my legs and not because I was out of breath.

I have been thinking about how I wanted to include shadow boxing into my routine more, as well as practicing 500 kicks per day. (If I were in a fight, I wouldn’t use kicks nearly as much as I would use punches, but it is still good to sharpen all your tools.) There is a hard fact that I have to face though: I just don’t have the time for all of it.

So it’s time to do what my buddy Bruce Lee said: accept what is useful, reject what is useless. With that in mind, I wrote a list of all the items that are either already on my training routine, or that I would like to do:

1000 punches daily
Front kicks 50 times
Side kicks 50 times
Bong/Jut Gerk 50 times
Five 3-minute rounds of shadow boxing (15 minutes total sounded like a good amount to me)
Sil Lum Tao (form)
Chum Kiu (form)
Biu Jee (form)
Wooden dummy form
Push-ups
Sit-ups
Burpees
Run
2-handed techniques with a pivot
Double lan sao turns 100 times

Starting from the bottom up, let’s eliminate some things.

The double lan sao turn is something I added in because I was having trouble maintaining balance while pivoting. As time has gone on, I have found that all my form practice has helped me fix this problem anyway. Therefore, the double lan sao turn can go bye bye.

Doing the 2-hand techniques with a pivot was meant to help me get better at doing simultaneous attack and defend. I have a slight delay where I will be doing my defense before my attack instead of completing both at the same time. While I do need help with this, I might have to cut it out of the schedule simply due to time restraint. Here’s my thing: at the moment, I do this particular routine only once per week. Well, where is the sense in that? I can’t advance too quickly unless I do it more regularly. Maybe once a week IS better than nothing at all though, so I am on the fence with this one.

Burpees got put into the mix because I had asked Sifu Larry London to give me some ideas for solo training. He recommended these to strengthen my legs, which in turn would strengthen my stance. They also serve to give my cardio a boost. However, the running and kicking practice are addressing both of those issues, so it is time to strike burpees from the list.

Regarding kicks, there are actually FOUR different kinds I could do. We have three listed above. The fourth is known to some as a “half moon kick.” which is aimed at an opponent’s shin or knee. If you divide 500 kicks by 4 different kinds of kicks, then that would be 125 of each type. However, as I said above, I think the kicking practice is what screwed up my run. Since right now my main goal is to reduce my running time, I might want to leave kicks off the schedule until I have achieved that. Either that, or my other option would be to keep the kicks in my routine and just know that it might take a while before my body gets strong enough to handle doing those kicks AND running at the speed this test requires.

With these reductions in mind, that leaves me with the following schedule:

1000 punches daily
All forms daily (with Chum Kiu performed more than once, since that is what I am working on)
Push-ups
Sit-ups
Run
2-hand techniques with pivot, 500 reps total
15 minutes of shadow boxing

I do 100 punches at the end of each form, so that takes care of 400 out of the 1000. That leaves working 600 into the other activities. Also, I should note that I don’t plan on doing push-ups, sit-ups, running, or shadow boxing EVERY day. These will be done every OTHER day by alternating them over the course of a six-day schedule. Example: days 1-3-5 would be running/push-ups/sit-ups, days 2-4-6- would be the shadow boxing and 2-hand techniques.

Now it’s just a matter of deciding what day of the week would be “day 1,” and then revamping the schedule.

*************************
DO YOU PRACTICE A MARTIAL ART OR SOME KIND OF SPORT? DO YOU HAVE A TRAINING ROUTINE? IF SO, PLEASE COMMENT BELOW AND SHARE IT WITH US. HEY…EVEN IF YOU DON’T DO ANY PHYSICAL ACTIVITY OF THIS LEVEL, YOU SHOULD STILL FEEL FREE TO COMMENT!!!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in agility test, analysis, biu jee, Bruce Lee, burpees, cardio, chest, chum kiu, endurance, energy, exercise, fitness, front kick, health, inspiration, kicks, kung fu, lan sao, Larry London, legs, management, martial arts, mook jong, observation, perseverance, punches, push-ups, review, running, self-defense, shadow boxing, Sifu, sil lum tao, sit-ups, technique, train, training, wing chun, wooden dummy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This Training Schedule Needs a Revamp

  1. Robert Mitchell says:

    Hey there! Sorry I haven’t commented in a while, but I’ve been reading along ;-). So, what’s with 1,000 punches? For an advanced guy like you? Really? I think you got punching covered with the forms and shadowboxing. As for kicks, I would do 100 per day of *very slow* kicks with perfect form, like a ballet dancer with one hand on a sturdy object. This will amp your technique but save energy. Your guru is right. Burpees are the s***. Ditch the Sit-ups and Push-ups and do Burpees w/ Push-ups at the bottom. As for the runs, set a timer for rounds of 2:00/:30. Jog/walk for 2:00 and sprint for :30 until the 2 miles are over. Next time 1:58/:32. Keep going until you’re sprinting more than you’re jogging. To get faster you have to run faster — go figure! Happy training brother!

    • wcman1976 says:

      I am going to respond step by step here.

      1000 PUNCHES PLUS KICK TRAINING: I don’t think level has anything to do with it. I mean, do you think Ali or Tyson stopped practicing punches once they achieved the championship? Granted, they didn’t have forms, but still…I believe in narrowing my focus down to the mechanics of the punches by doing them solo. It can’t hurt.

      BURPEES/PUSH-UPS/SIT-UPS: If you missed it in earlier posts, I am training to take the agility test for University Police Officer 1. There are only three items on the test: push-ups, sit-ups and the 1.5 mile run. Since I am already building my cardio and legs in other ways, I’m ditching the burpees and leaving in the other items. After all, I think it makes the most sense to train for that test by doing what is on it.

      RUNNING: I am following a guideline that a friend of mine gave me. (For the record, he is a certified personal trainer.) Right now the goal is to find a running speed that I can maintain for the entire mile and a half without dropping to a walk. In month 2, I will increase that speed by 25-50%, and I will run at the new speed for one minute, then drop to the slower pace for 2 minutes. Then in month 3, that interval will be switched. I appreciate the advice and I will log it for future reference, but for now I am going to follow the training routine he gave me. No sense in abandoning it without determining its legitimacy first. I can always try other approaches later on.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Robert Mitchell says:

    I totally get it with the punches. By all means leave them in — if you have the gas. My suggestions are based on the fact that you were getting slower, which I took to mean maybe you were over-training and should cut out some stuff to leave you more gas for the runs. If you’re overtraining, something’s gotta go, and that’s a hard choice, right?

    But if you think you’ll eventually catch up if you keep pushing, that’s awesome. Nobody knows your body and its capabilities as well as you!

    FYI, I’ve been logging all my workouts online since 2012, if you’re interested:

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1DQyvf628mtbOzQ_yX4Gwt2JVq4yI02XGtM8OsjJ3PrI/edit?usp=sharing

    • wcman1976 says:

      Robert, since running involves the legs, I believe the kicks are what affected the run. For now I will leave the kicks out and see how it goes. Here is my reasoning: obviously part of the reason I train Wing Chun is for self-defense, and in a self-defense situation I would most likely not use kicks anyway. Why? A couple reasons. (1) Most fights happen too close to use kicks, even for the low-line Wing Chun variety. (2) Most people are taller and heavier than me, so if I lift one leg off the ground, I’m making it that much easier for my opponent to uproot me. Why do the work for them?

      I can’t check your workouts from here, but I will at home!

Leave a Reply

