Set a New Record for Running 07-24-2016

Today I was at my mother’s house when I decided to go for my run. (I usually do it on Sunday evenings, but my girlfriend and I went to her 20 year high school reunion, then had to grocery shop, then do chores, etc., so it would have been ridiculously late if I waited.)

I decided to go from her house on Central Avenue, down to Spring Avenue, and then over this road known as the Crossways. A road called Pinewoods Avenue is at the other end of the Crossways, and this one connects to the OTHER end of Central Avenue. I figured this would be a good route because I had a destination: getting back to mom’s house. This would eliminate my urge to keep looking at the distance I had run on my Nike app; instead, I would avoid looking at it until I was back in front of mom’s.

At this point I should also mention that the reason I chose this path was because it was the closest to a flat 1.5 mile running course that I could think of. Why did I need it to be flat? Well, I wanted to simulate the University Police Officer 1 agility test. When I was told I could attend the agility test at SUNY New Paltz, they were going to have us run around the track, which of course is flat.

As I reached the halfway point of the Crossways, I started getting a little bored so I decided to do some chest level punches. I did 100. It was during this process that my app announced I was done with 0.75 miles of my run. Meanwhile, here I was reaching the end of the Crossways.

Why was this a bad thing? Because I knew when I got back to mom’s street, the opposite end of Central Avenue was all uphill. CRAP!!! Now what was I going to do?

I went to the end of the Crossways and decided to make the best of it. I ran a little while along Pinewoods. When that got too steep, I turned around and ran back down. By the time I got back to the Crossways, I had to drop down to a walk. However, this lasted only about 0.05 of a mile before I started running again.

And guess what?

I did my 1.5 in 18 minutes and 11 seconds! This comes after my slowest time of 20:06.

So what are my thoughts on all of this? Well, here are a few:

*My friend Robert (a Certified Personal Trainer, who also happens to be my mom’s tenant) came outside and watched me run to see my stride. He determined that I have a very short stride due to the way my body is built, which of course cannot be changed. However, he did offer a few tips for now that will help me get better. (One of them was training myself to keep my core tight by engaging it even when I am just walking around the office or sitting in a computer chair, like I am doing now! It’s kind of hard to explain how this will benefit my run, so I won’t bother trying.) He is also going to look into ways that a person can lengthen their stride.

*Although I know it didn’t put any more stress on my leg muscles, I think I should leave the punching out next time. I did it to shorten my training time later in the day by doing two things at once, but I think it hurt me because it expended more energy.

*If I HAD been on a flat surface today, then I think I could have completed the run in less than 18 minutes. Quite a change from the first run, which was only about two weeks ago. On top of that, I haven’t even gotten around to my accelerated running speed yet; that comes in month 2.

Long story short, I think I’ve got this agility test in the bag. Who knows? Once I kill the time for the test, I might decide to start running a full 2 miles, and then maybe more, and then maybe more, and then…well, you get the idea.

As for the rest of my training today, I did the following:

*35 push-ups
*40 sit-ups
*Sil Lum Tao with 100 chest-level punches
*Biu Jee with 100 head-level punches
*Mook Jong with 100 stepping punches
*Chum Kiu 4 times (twice slow, twice fast), all with 100 pivoting punches for 400 total
*100 chest-level punches
*100 head-level punches
*100 pivoting punches

*********************************************
HAVE YOU TRAINED TODAY? IF SO, I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR ABOUT IT SO PLEASE COMMENT BELOW!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, agility test, analysis, biu jee, calories, cardio, chest, chum kiu, core, endurance, energy, excitement, exercise, fitness, health, kung fu, martial arts, mook jong, observation, punches, push-ups, results, review, routine, running, sil lum tao, sit-ups, speed, technique, train, training, university police officer, wing chun, wooden dummy, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

