Still Training Still Running Still Improving

Yesterday I did the first two Wing Chun forms (Sil Lum Tao and Chum Kiu) five times each, with 100 punches at the end, for a total of 1000 punches. Business as usual. I also did 40 push-ups and 40 sit-ups. Again, not much has changed there.

The BIGGEST development was when I went for my run. Toward the end of the day at work, I started to feel drowsy and out of it. The thought of running even a single step made me groan. Fortunately, once I was on my way home, I got my second wind. I thought to myself, “I can do this.”

I am currently running my way through month 2, week 3 of my training routine. For this month I am supposed to run 2 minutes at a regular pace, and then 1 minute at a speed that is 25-50% faster than regular. The goal was to come up with a pace where I could remain running for the entire 1.5 miles without dropping down to a walk. Well, I have some good and bad news to report about that.

BAD NEWS: So far this month, I have failed to find that sweet spot where I can move my speed up and down WITHOUT dropping down to a walk. I would say that out of the entire time I was on the track, 2-3 minutes of that was spent walking.

GOOD NEWS: Despite the bad news, I was able to complete my run in 15 minutes 44 seconds. The last time I ran the full distance (excluding Sunday, when I had to call it quits after 0.92 miles), I did it in 16 minutes 10 seconds. Therefore that is a reduction in running time of nearly HALF A MINUTE (26 seconds, to be exact).

So there is a balance here, and the good has to be considered with the bad. I may not have done the entire distance at a run, but I DID complete it in faster time. Now if I could just find the right pace where I never slow down to a walk, I bet you would REALLY see some time reduction!

********************
GOT ANY TRAINING STORIES TO SHARE? PLEASE COMMENT BELOW!!!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in chum kiu, fitness, kung fu, martial arts, push-ups, running, sil lum tao, sit-ups, training, wing chun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

