Modified Wing Chun Training

All right, I said that I had changed my Wing Chun training a while back. Now I am finally getting around to explaining how.

A few months ago, I had a lot of different things I was doing for Wing Chun training at home. Some of this will mean nothing to the non-martial artist…or, even if you are a martial artist, to the non-Wing Chun practitioner. Anyway, for the sake of showing how my training has changed, I am going to write it down.

1) Sil Lum Tao (first form) 3 times per day, with 100 punches at the end
2) Chum Kiu (second form) 3 times per day, with 100 punches at the end
3) Biu Jee (third form) 3 times per day, with 100 punches at the end
4) 100 extra punches so I did 1000 per day
5) 500 kicks per day (straight, side, groin height, knee height)
6) Bong/jut gerk (“gerk” means leg, so again these were more leg exercises)
7) 2-handed techniques with a pivot (by 2-handed I mean one hand attacks, the other defends, simultaneously)
8) Stand in my basic stance, then pivot so I am facing left, then pivot all the way so I am facing right (this was in my curriculum because I was having trouble keeping my balance when I pivoted)
9) Shadow boxing
10) One minute of burpees

I dropped #8 because, over time, I figured out ways to correct the balance issue during the pivoting in the Chum Kiu form. (Sometimes I still have issues, but they are few and far between.) Then I dropped #5, #6 and #10 because, on the days opposite Wing Chun training, I was doing a 1.5 mile run, but the kicks and burpees were making my legs ache too much so I dropped them. For a while I hung on to item #7, but then I cut it from my routine because of time constraints. I came to the realization that I needed to focus on those things that would get my skill to the next level.

In order to do that, I decided to focus ONLY on Sil Lum Tao and Chum Kiu. Even within that narrow focus, I decided to do Sil Lum Tao only twice a day and Chum Kiu a whopping EIGHT TIMES. Why? Because even after all these years, I am still stuck at the Chum Kiu “level.” Therefore it makes sense to me that the only way to move on would be to improve my Chum Kiu. Then my Sifu would realize I was ready for Biu Jee.

One more thing: I shied away from doing any shadow boxing because I worried about getting bored. I mean, I can imagine only so many ways of being attacked. How useful of a training tool would that be? Before I did any shadow boxing, I looked up videos online on how to shadow box. It might seem silly, but it really helped me out.

Now, moving on, there was a further change in how I did the forms. Even though I am only at Chum Kiu level, I do know Biu Jee and the Wooden Dummy (Mook Jong) form in their entirety. (I learned them back in the day when my dedication level hadn’t slipped.) So the next shift in training was to do Sil Lum Tao and Chum Kiu 4 times each (with 100 punches each), Biu Jee once (with 100 punches aimed at head height), and the Mook Jong form (doing 100 punches at the end with a step, which I was able to do because I do not own a wooden dummy and was doing the form in the air).

Then I went to class one night, and I was there ahead of everyone. It was just Sifu London and I. He told me that Sil Lum Tao was not only meant to help Wing Chun students learn how to sink into their roots, but it was also meant to help you learn how to remain calm in the face of the chaos that is a fight.

That was amazing to me because to this day I still have a problem with spazzing out and flinching whenever someone is about to hit me during Chi Sao (Wing Chun’s version of sparring…sort of). What he said completely changed the way I thought about training. So now, here is the Wing Chun training I am following today:

*Sil Lum Tao 5 times, with 100 punches at the end
*Chum Kiu 5 times, with 100 punches at the end
*Five 3-minute rounds of shadow boxing, for a total of 15 minutes

The only variable here is the shadow boxing. I don’t do that on Sunday-Tuesday-Thursday. On those days I do the training for the University Police Officer exam. As some of you may know from my previous post, training for that is a moot point. However, I want to see my running routine through to the end just to see if I CAN do the mile and a half in 12 minutes 58 seconds.

When I am done with the running routine, I will probably jump into Tony Horton’s 22 Minutes Hard Corps program. Honestly, I am not sure it will help me shape up much. I think that the only way my physique starts to transform is with the longer, more punishing workouts like P90X and Insanity. However, I went to the trouble to plunk down the money for 22 Minutes, so I am going to do it.

Happy training, everyone!!!

******************************
AS ALWAYS, I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR TRAINING ROUTINES. FEEL FREE TO SHARE.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 22 Minute Hard Corps, biu jee, burpees, cardio, chum kiu, exercise, fitness, front kick, health, insanity, kicks, kung fu, Larry London, lesson, martial arts, mook jong, P90X, punches, routine, running, shadow boxing, shaun t, side kick, Sifu, sil lum tao, tony horton, train, training, university police officer, wing chun, wooden dummy, workout and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Modified Wing Chun Training

  1. Uatoob says:

    Godspeed on the abs, friend. That makes 2 of us, I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

