Modifying Wing Chun Training to Accommodate the Rest of Life

As anyone who has been reading this blog knows, I have been really pushing myself with my Wing Chun training. Every day, I aim to do my forms at least 10 times per day and 1000 punches per day. I have been doing them on my breaks at work. However, the problem is that leaves me with little to no time to do anything else. Therefore, today I decided to cut both those numbers in half. I did my forms 5 times and did 500 punches.

Why the sudden cut? What is so pressing? Well, aside from being a martial artist, I am also a writer. Many years ago I completed an epic comic book, for which I have finally found an artist. I told him that while he is busy drawing it, I will be busy coming up with a plan to get as much traffic to this thing as possible so we can hit the ground running. (NOTE: This comic will be on the web…because printing is just too expensive, not to mention risky.)

So today I used my extra time to read through 82 pages of notes that I took on how to succeed with a webcomic. (By “succeed,” I don’t mean “get filthy rich.” At this point I would just like to get the story out there!) To my surprise, I wound up being able to condense the notes to 4-6 pages. Needless to say, this is much more manageable.

The work isn’t done, so I will be reducing the Wing Chun training for a while, but the good news about that is I will be attending the advanced level class, which is held every Sunday on the Skidmore College campus. So it all balances out!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in comic book, form, martial arts, web comic, wing chun, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

