Need to Rethink My Running Training

The other day was supposed to be day 1 of month 3 of my running training. For this month, I am supposed to run at a faster pace for 2 minutes, then drop down to my “normal” pace for 1 minute. This is the flip of last month, where I did slow for 2 minutes, fast for 1.

Well, things started out good. I tore off and ran faster than ever until about the 1 minute 30 second mark. Then something odd happened. I got a tingling sensation going up and down BOTH arms. When I slowed down, the feeling vanished from my arms but then seemed to travel (for lack of a better term) up to my jawline, where I had the same sensation running along my jawline from ear to ear.

Instead of doing a slow run, I dropped to a walk. I got my breathing under control. The sensation vanished, so I decided to test the waters and return to the slow run. Since the sensation did not return, I picked up the pace a little…until I felt it come back.

Needless to say, I followed the old advice that can be summed up in one sentence: “Listen to your body.” I cut the run short at 5 minutes. By the time I stopped, I had run 0.52 miles. (Let’s assume I could maintain that same pace for my entire run. If you multiply both the time and distance by 3, then that means in 15 minutes I would have done 1.56 miles. In other words, I would hit 1.5 somewhere BEFORE 15 minutes, which means I would still be closing that gap and getting my time down to 13.)

That sensation has me nervous. I can’t wait until my insurance kicks in at my new job so I can go to the doctor and see what might possibly be going on. The worst part about it is that I just started noticing that I am actually starting to lose weight. Now my old body is going to betray me and keep me fat?

Bull. I am not going to let age keep me from getting healthier. Maybe this running routine isn’t meant for me, but then again I don’t see how the weight can drop off unless I am in fact doing something that pushes my limits.

Maybe it’s just a matter of learning what those limits are and not pushing TOO far past them.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in adversity, endurance, exercise, fitness, health, health insurance, running, training, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

