Health Update

Well, on Monday when I went for my run, I had this bizarre tingling sensation that went up and down both arms. When I stopped running, the same sensation moved up to my jawline. Later that night I had a bad cough; I had the same feeling that I do when I am getting toward the end of a cold, and my cough is starting to break up all the mucous in my chest.

Yesterday (Wednesday as of this writing) I had a sharp pain on the left side of my chest that came and went for an hour or so. Given what had happened to me on Monday, I decided to leave work and go to urgent care for help. They did an EKG and took a chest x-ray. There was also some bloodwork done.

Their determination was that it was musculoskeletal, NOT cardiac in nature. (Thank God for small favors.) Unfortunately, it is one of those pains that could be caused by so many things that it is easier to say what it’s NOT than what it actually is. They discharged me and told me to follow up with my doctor today, which I will be doing shortly. And not to state the obvious, but running is on hold until I get a stress test done.

So I left, went out to my car, and guess what? The pain came back!

I have a feeling I may be in the hospital before long.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in chest, exercise, fitness, health, pain, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Health Update

  1. tonydismukes says:

    If it is in fact musculoskeletal rather than cardiac, perhaps the best thing you can do is find ways of working your cardio which are lower impact. Running can put a lot of stress via repetitive jolting on your body which could be triggering something. If you have access to a gym with a pool or rowing machines or a stair stepper, you could see whether those allowed you to push your cardio without setting off the pains. Be careful, though, and see what your doctor says.

    • wcman1976 says:

      What’s confusing to me is that I did a home fitness program called Insanity, which is way more intense than just running, and I was not that much younger than I am now…and this did not happen. Then again, maybe the key lies in the word “repetitive.” Whereas running is one continuous activity, things get changed up constantly in Insanity.

      You mention doing something lower impact. Compared to those programs like P90X, running IS lower in intensity. Unfortunately, what I have noticed is that my fitness gains have not been all that noticeable to me ever since I started doing less intense workouts. I was doing Insanity Max 30, which runs only 30 minutes as opposed to Insanity’s 60-70 minutes, and my cardio gains have not been that great.

      I think the best program I ever did was when I did the hybrid of P90X and Insanity. Those two made for a killer combination, and I really want to get back to that combo. Right now I have to wait until I hear from my doctor though, but I hope one day I can do it again because my physique was at its all-time best after my first round of that program.

      • tonydismukes says:

        Just remember that “intensity” and “impact” are not the same thing. It’s possible that when you are running (even at a lower intensity) you may be causing repetitive jolting to your spine, which is causing some damage/inflammation which impinges on a nerve, causing the pain. Most people run so they land on their heel as they step, which causes significant impact. Even if you don’t do that, there may be some other aspect of your running technique which puts excess wear and tear on your system.

        • wcman1976 says:

          Man, it took me a long time to reply to this.

          I am definitely good about not landing on my heel. However, you may be right about the jolting of the spine. There have been more developments, but I will write another blog about them.

Leave a Reply

