December 14, 2016: Training Journal

NOTE: When it comes to the Weekly Challenges that are issued from the Wing Chun Group on Facebook, I am on the fence as to whether or not I should describe what the challenge is. To some people, it might mean absolutely nothing if I were to say, “With the same hand do a pak sao, followed by a tan sao, then do bong sao-lop sao-chop, followed by a double lop sao with a kick.”

Then again, if other Wing Chun practitioners read this blog, they will definitely know what I mean. However, you have to figure: how many people who read this will also be Wing Chun students or Sifus? Therefore, I vote for just calling it “Weekly Challenge” and notating that I did it.

As for nutrition, I think it is self-explanatory how I laid it out. If I eat or drink anything that is not “allowed” or whatever you want to call it, then it will be notated under Dinner in the “OTHER” category.

WING CHUN KUNG FU

*100 punches in basic horse stance
*50 front kicks
*100 turning punches
*50 kicks from the wooden dummy form
*100 punches in basic horse stance
*50 side kicks
*100 turning punches
*50 low kicks
*50 punches in basic horse stance, 50 turning punches
*50 lifting kicks

*Mook Jong
*Weekly Challenge (Set 1 of 4)
*Biu Jee
*Weekly Challenge (Set 2 of 4)
*Chum Kiu
*Weekly Challenge (Set 3 of 4)
*Sil Lum Tao
*Weekly Challenge (Set 4 of 4)

EXERCISE

10 Minute Trainer: Abs

NUTRITION

BREAKFAST: Bread (1 grain), Peanut butter (1 protein), Banana (1 fruit), Milk (1 dairy)

SNACK 1: Cereal (1 grain), Small orange (1/2 fruit)

LUNCH: Crackers (1 grain), String cheese (1 dairy), Chicken (2 proteins), Carrots (1 vegetable)

SNACK 2: Oatmeal x 2 (2 grains)

DINNER: Tuna (2 proteins), Carrots (1 vegetable), String cheese (1 dairy)

OTHER: Coffee with one serving of creamer and 3 packets of Stevia (Breakfast)

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, biu jee, challenge, chum kiu, dairy, diet, eating, exercise, fitness, grains, health, home fitness, Insanity Max 30, kicks, kung fu, martial arts, nutrition, P90X 3, protein, punches, side kick, sil lum tao, team beachbody, technique, training, vegetables, weight loss, wing chun, wooden dummy, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

