Revamped Wing Chun and Fitness Training

Well, it has been a while! I have not felt the urge to write anything here because honestly there wasn’t much to write. I hadn’t been doing my forms or anything. For some reason, just after Thanksgiving, I turned that all around with a vengeance.

FIRST CHANGE: REINTRODUCING FORMS/PUNCHES/KICKS PRACTICE

I started doing my forms probably around November 20. I know 4 out of 6 Wing Chun forms (Sil Lum Tao, Chum Kiu, Biu Jee, and Mook Jong or the “wooden dummy”), so I did them all once each day. In the past I used to aim for 1000 punches per day. However, I wanted to also incorporate kicks. I don’t have enough time in the day to do it all, so I cut the punches down to 500 so I could add in 250 kicks.

I was doing 100 punches at the end of every form. 100 times 4 forms means 400 punches, and then I would throw in another 100 (split evenly between punches done in the basic horse stance and punches done with a pivot). Then I would split the kicks between 5 different types, 50 kicks each:

*Front kick
*Side kick
*Lifting kick (up to someone’s groin)
*Low front kick (to the knee)
*Bong/jut gerk

I didn’t really understand the Bong/Juy Gerk motion, so I decided that, until I can get back to class to get more clarification, I replaced it with a kick from the Mook Jong form. (If you don’t know it, then it would be too complicated to describe here.) Also, I used to do several variations of the punches. I streamlined that too: now I do only punches at chest height in the basic horse stance, and with a pivot.

Here’s the other thing I changed: I used to do 100 punches at the end of each form. Well, since I do my forms on my breaks at work AND I have other things that have to get done, this was proving to take too long. So now, whenever I need to take a quick stretch break at work, I will do the punches at my desk. (My cubicle walls are high enough where my coworkers don’t see me!) As for the kicks, I practice them throughout the day too, but not just in my stance: as I walk around my apartment, I will practice kicking table legs and doorways so that I learn to gauge proper distance.

Aside from all this, I am also doing a “Weekly Challenge” that was issued by this Wing Chun group that I joined on Facebook. Every week, people in the group come up with different challenges that we can vote on. Whichever challenge gets the most votes is the one we do for the week. This group has been a blessing because it keeps my Wing Chun training from going stale.

SECOND CHANGE: REVAMPING THE DIET

Thanks to the awesome health insurance I get through work, I am given access to a FREE Health Coach. This woman called me up and listened to what my goals are. She advised me to go back to ChooseMyPlate.gov and look up what I needed to eat if I based myself on consuming 1600 calories per day (as opposed to the 1800 that I was doing). This resulted in a slight lowering of my servings.

*5 grains (it used to be 6)
*5 protein (also 6)
*1 and a half fruit (formerly 2)
*2 vegetables (used to be 3)
*3 dairy (unchanged)

I immediately got to work on adjusting how many of these I would have to eat per meal. I am still sticking to the 3 meals and 2 snacks approach. Happily, things are working out fine.

THIRD CHANGE: ADDING BACK IN EXERCISE

On November 26, I started doing 10 Minute Trainer again. I’m doing just 10 minutes per day, with a plan to go to 20 minutes when this round is up. After that I will finally get around to doing 22 Minute Hard Corps. Then there will be a P90X 3/Insanity Max 30 hybrid, because both programs are 30 minutes long. There will be others after that, but I don’t remember the order in which I planned on doing them at the moment.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I am very excited and pleased with the way things are going with this setup. In fact, I weighed myself first thing last Saturday morning (when I was halfway done with my first round of 10 Minute Trainer), and I was already down 3 pounds! However, I know the scale is not always an accurate way to judge your fitness level. If you lose a pound of fat but gain a pound of muscle, then you might get discouraged. Therefore, at some point I have to take my measurements: upper arms, upper thigh, chest, waist, and hips.

Also, I think I might get back to posting on here on a daily basis, even if it is just to record what I did. That might get bland after a while, but hey…journals can do that sometimes!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, 22 Minute Hard Corps, accountability, advancement, biu jee, calories, chum kiu, discipline, eating, excitement, exercise, fitness, front kick, health, health insurance, home fitness, Insanity Max 30, insurance, kung fu, martial arts, muscle, nutrition, P90X 3, progress, protein, punches, results, routine, side kick, sil lum tao, team beachbody, weight, weight loss, wing chun, wooden dummy, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

