December 16, 2016: Training Journal

I’m still tinkering with the best format for these entries. Then again, you might not realize that because they still look the same. That’s because at this point the tinkering is happening only in my mind. I can’t put my finger on what it is, but it just feels weird to have that heading marked “EXERCISE” and then put only one thing under it. Maybe I could add my thoughts on the workout, or describe it, or something like that.

WING CHUN

*250 punches in horse stance
*250 turning punches

*50 low kicks
*50 lifting kicks
*50 side kicks
*50 front kicks
*50 wooden dummy kicks

NOTE: I am really becoming disenchanted with the wooden dummy kicks. Why? Because I am actually doing TWO kicks in one move, which means 100 kicks. It is awfully time-consuming. The first kick is a straight kick to the body, and the second is either a stomp kick to the knee or a scraping kick that goes down the shin to the opponent’s foot. I think I might swap it out and do only the stomp/scrape. (The only reason I was doing both kicks is because, when I do the form, I was losing my balance when I pivoted. However, I think that is a separate issue, which would be better worked on through other means.)

*Sil Lum Tao
*Chum Kiu
*Biu Jee
*Mook Jong

*Challenge Round 1
*Challenge Round 2
*Challenge Round 3
*Challenge Round 4

NUTRITION

BREAKFAST: Bread (1 grain), Peanut butter (1 protein), Banana (1 fruit), Milk (1 dairy)
SNACK 1: Small orange (1/2 fruit), Hard roll (1 grain)
LUNCH: Tuna (2 proteins) Carrots (1 vegetable), Crackers (1 grain), String cheese (1 dairy)
SNACK 2: Bagel (1 grain), Cereal (1 grain), Laughing Cow spreadable cheese (1 dairy)
DINNER: Wings (2 proteins), Carrots (1 vegetable)

EXERCISE

*10 Minute Trainer: Lower Body

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, biu jee, challenge, chum kiu, dairy, exercise, fitness, front kick, fruit, health, home fitness, kicks, kung fu, lifting kick, lower body, martial arts, mook jong, nutrition, pivot, protein, punches, resistance bands, side kick, sil lum tao, team beachbody, technique, tony horton, train, training, vegetables, weight, weight loss, weightlifting, weights, wing chun, wooden dummy, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

