December 17, 2016: Training Journal

Usually weekends are the hardest time for my training because I have my kids over. That might seem odd because, unlike a work day, I have the whole day to do whatever I want, whenever I want, right? But with the kids here, I want to pay attention to them.

I started out the day thinking I would just do my forms and the weekly challenge. Then I looked outside and saw the snow coming down hard. My girlfriend and I had to move our cars so the plow truck could clear the parking lot. Rather than come back inside, I waited out there and practiced all my punches and kicks, as well as my forms. Then all I had to do was the weekly challenge!

WING CHUN

*250 punches in basic stance
*250 punches with pivot
*50 front kicks
*50 side kicks
*50 lift kicks
*50 low kicks
*50 stomp kicks

NOTE: The low and stomp kicks were my favorite part of today’s training because I was outside for that, and I was kicking the front tire on my car as a target. This was fun because when I use table legs and the couch as targets in my apartment, my girlfriend gets upset with me.

*Sil Lum Tao
*Chum Kiu
*Biu Jee
*Mook Jong

EXERCISE

10 Minute Trainer: Total Body 2

NOTE: I really felt a burn in my biceps today. On Lower Body (which was yesterday), I felt it even more so in my legs. That means I either pushed myself harder or my legs are in worse shape than I thought. The good news is, I’m progressing.

NUTRITION

*BREAKFAST: Bread (1 grain), Peanut butter (1 protein), Apple (1 fruit)
*SNACK 1: Small orange, (1/2 fruit), Bread (1 grain), Milk (1 dairy)
*LUNCH: Chicken (2 proteins), Carrots (1 vegetable), Hard roll (1 grain), Cream cheese (1dairy)
*SNACK 2: Cereal (2 grains), Corn (1 vegetable)
DINNER: Shakeology (1 protein), Peanut butter (1 protein), Milk (1 dairy)

NOTE: Three cups of coffee today…ugh. However, I did pay attention to the portions of both cream and sugar, so I wasn’t too bad.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, biu jee, challenge, challenge group, challenge groups, chum kiu, dairy, eating, exercise, fitness, front kick, health, home fitness, kicks, kung fu, lifting kick, low kick, martial arts, mook jong, nutrition, protein, punches, resistance bands, routine, shakeology, side kick, sil lum tao, stomp kick, strength, strength training, supplements, team beachbody, technique, tony horton, total body, total body 2, train, training, vegetables, weight, weight loss, weights, wooden dummy, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

