December 21, 2016: Training Journal

I am already thinking of changing up how I do this. After all, my Wing Chun routine consists of pretty much the same thing every day. Posting the same stats repeatedly all week could get a little bland. So what can I do? Well, first of all I am not some never-ending source of blog ideas. I see people out there like Dom Izzo who post Wing Chun videos on an almost daily basis. I don’t have the time for that, so I need another option.

One idea I had is to subscribe to a ton of Wing Chun channels on YouTube and get video ideas from them. Keep in mind I will not be plagiarizing. Their videos will merely serve as inspirations for mine, although I have to admit that sometimes there may indeed be crossover. However, it still won’t be a complete ripoff because these videos will represent MY take on the subjects.

So I think I will have a three-way approach to posting on here:

1) Video posts. These will be on YouTube AND posted here.
2) Blogs of my own composition. These could be summaries of my exercise/nutrition struggle, or of course Wing Chun-related. They could even be reviews of Wing Chun books/movies…hey, maybe even some philosophical posts on how to apply things learned in Wing Chun to daily life. I promise that I will strive to not get too New Age-y in these.
3) Guest posts. These could be articles written by Wing Chun instructors, or maybe even just Wing Chun enthusiasts/students. If there are no submissions for guest posts, then I will simply post a link to a video I like and talk about that.

I think this will provide the blog with a LOT more variety and interesting content. Now, having said all that, I will still post the training I did for the day, either at the bottom of posts like this or in their own post. We will see what works best.

I will say one thing that I am going to change: since there is only one item to be entered under the heading EXERCISE, I am going to stop breaking that out as its own separate listing and incorporate it into the Wing Chun heading.

********************
WING CHUN AND EXERCISE

*500 punches
*250 kicks
*Challenge Round 1
*Challenge Round 2
*All forms that I know
10 Minute Trainer: Core Cardio

NUTRITION

*BREAKFAST: bread (1 grain), peanut butter (1 protein), banana (1 fruit), milk (1 dairy)
*SNACK 1: small orange (1/2 fruit), cereal (1 grain)
*LUNCH: rice (1 grain), string cheese (1 dairy), peanuts (2 proteins), carrots (1 vegetable)
*SNACK 2: string cheese (1 dairy), rice (2 grains)
*DINNER: protein bar (1 protein)

NOTE: I was supposed to have one more protein and one more vegetable, but I was still feeling full. If there is one piece of nutrition wisdom that I think is indispensable and everyone should follow, it’s the phrase, “Listen to your body.” In other words feeling full is better than feeling stuffed.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, bands, biu jee, blog, calories, cardio, challenge, challenge group, challenge groups, chum kiu, core cardio, dairy, exercise, fitness, food, front kick, fruit, health, home fitness, kicks, kung fu, lifting kick, low kick, martial arts, mook jong, nutrition, pivot, protein, punches, resistance bands, routine, side kick, sil lum tao, stomp kick, team beachbody, tony horton, train, training, vegetables, videos, weight, weight loss, wing chun, woodchopper, wooden dummy, work, workout, youtube videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

