December 26, 2016: Training Journal

There is a new challenge in the group:

Squat, Left Front Kick, 5 Punches
Squat, Right Front Kick, 5 Punches

Repeat on both sides 20 times. Then do 2 sets. That means you do 200 punches per set, for a grand total of 400. I did all those.

On top of that, I did 150 punches at the end of both Sil Lum Tao AND Chum Kiu. 300 total, plus the other 400, means I did 700 punches today. After that I did Biu Jee and Mook Jong, but I did not add any extra punches to the end of them.

Today marks the first day of my new workout program. It is still 10 Minute Trainer, but I am doing 20 minutes per day instead of just 10. The program I am doing includes the workout routines from the “basic” DVD’s, as well as the ones from the “advanced” upgrade. However, back in the day when I bought the extra DVD, I was sent two additional DVD’s as extra bonuses. These discs have 3 workout routines on them each, and they are:

*Friday Night Arms
*Chest and Back
*Plyo Intervals

*Lower Body
*Upper Body
*Cardio Intervals

I also bought P90X One on One, Volume 2, Disc 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack. This DVD includes 3 more 10-minute workouts, which are:

*20/12 Abs
*Legs of Gold
*Shadow Boxing

The thing is, none of the auto-schedules in the Beachbody archives include the workouts from these extra DVD’s. However, it would be easy enough to swap these out. It could be done in the following fashion:

*UPPER BODY (from the upgrade DVD): replace with Friday Night Arms, Chest and Back, or Upper Body
*CARDIO (from the basic set) or CORE CARDIO (from the upgrade): replace with Cardio Intervals or Plyo Intervals, respectively, or Shadow Boxing
*LOWER BODY (from the basic set): replace with One-on-One Lower Body or Legs of Gold
*ABS (from the basic set): replace with 20/12 Abs

In fact, you know what? I think tomorrow on break at work, I will go through the calendar for this current program and figure out when and where I can replace these workouts. Like Tony Horton has always said, “Variety is the spice of life.”

Might as well start spicing things up!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, abs, bands, biu jee, cardio, cardio intervals, challenge, chum kiu, fitness, home fitness, kung fu, martial arts, mook jong, plyo intervals, punches, sil lum tao, squats, team beachbody, tony horton, train, training, upper body, weight loss, wing chun, wooden dummy, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

